Oscars of the classic world – 2019 Historic Motoring Awards

The 2019 Historic Motoring Awards: be there in October. Words James Elliott.

Nominations are open for the 2019 Historic Motoring Awards, the only event that recognises and rewards the global classic car industry. The Octane event is now in its eighth year and celebrates the pinnacle of achievement across a raft of sectors in the classic and performance car world.

In all there are 20 categories ranging from Museum of the Year to Industry Supporter of the Year. Those for the best shows and concours, Personal Achievement and Club of the Year are particularly popular. Several of the awards acknowledge historic motorsport and the rich seam of classic specialists.

As happened last year for the first time, there will be special trophies representing Drive-My’s specialist sister titles Enzo and Vantage. These will honour the very best in the worlds of Ferrari and Aston Martin.

For many, however, the key award is the Car of the Year, not least because the winner is decided by you, the readers of Octane. Watch this space and our social media channels for upcoming announcements on the contenders, but previous winners include the famous Jabbeke TR2 fastidiously returned to its former glory by Glen Hewett’s Protex Engineering (2018), and the continuation Jaguar XKSS (2017).

The voting process is simple: anyone can make nominations for any category before the deadline of 21 June. A panel of industry experts will then create a shortlist for each category, after which a host of well-known names from Octane’s Jay Leno to Petersen Museum founding chairman Bruce Meyer will cast their votes to determine the winners.

The awards will be handed out at a glittering ceremony in London. They will be part of a celebratory dinner which will take place on Thursday 17 October at the spectacular Rosewood Hotel in the heart of the Capital. To make your nominations and book tickets and tables (£2200 for a table of 10, £2600 for a table of 12 and £235 for individual seats), visit historicmotoringawards.co.uk

2019 Historic Motoring Awards

2019 Historic Motoring AwardsTop and above The Rosewood in High Holborn is a spectacular venue; last year’s event drew major players in the classic world.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.