Formula E given World Championship status

Formula E will officially become an FIA World Championship from the start of its 2020-21 season, which means Jaguar will compete in a world series for the first time since the 1991 World Sportscar Championship (which it won).

The electric single-seater Formula E series will join Formula 1 and the World Endurance, World Rally and World Rallycross Championships in holding the elevated status with the governing body. The series has fulfilled the criteria for world championship status – including four manufacturer competitors and races on three continents – since its second season.

The members of the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council voted to approve the move at a recent meeting, and Formula E founder and chairman Alejandro Agag and FIA president Jean Todt finalised the agreement at the governing body’s Paris headquarters in late November.

Formula E given World Championship status

Formula E given World Championship status

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.